BCCI nominates Rohit Sharma for Khel Ratna Award, Ishant, Dhawan, Deepti Sharma for Arjuna Awards | PM Cares Fund not a public authority under RTI Act, says Prime Minister's Office | India restarts economy by limiting anti-Covid lockdown to containment zones till Jun 30 | Bengal cricket team selector tests positive for Covid-19 | Centre identifies 145 new districts as potential Covid-19 hotspots |
BJP enters West Bengal assembly, wins Basirhat South

BJP enters West Bengal assembly, wins Basirhat South

India Blooms News Service | 16 Sep 2014, 05:16 pm
Kolkata, Sept 16 (IBNS) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) created a history of sorts in West Bengal by winning an Assembly seat in the state after over a decade as its candidate from Basirhat South in North 24 Parganas in the Indo-Bangladesh border constituency, Samik Bhattacharjee, won the elections.
In the other seat that went to bypolls in Chowringhee in Kolkata, Trinamool Congress candidate Nayana Bandopadhayay won the polls but BJP candidate Ritesh Tiwari came second garnering impressive number of votes. Congress came third. 
As counting of votes in West Bengal began on Tuesday, the ruling Trinamool Congress was ahead in both the Chowringhee (in Kolkata) and Basirhat South (in North 24 Parganas) seats though the BJP was fast catching up with the TMC in Basirhat with the votes of the towns. In rural segments TMC did better but in the final count BJP emerged winner.

 Samik Bhattacharjee was pitted against Trinamool candidate, footballer Dipendu Biswas.

Two seats in West Bengal went for bypolls on Sept 13 in West Bengal.

Three Lok Sabha constituencies and 32 Assembly segments all over India went to poll on Saturday last with eyes largely fixed on the two seats that went to polls in West Bengal owing to a serious challenge thrown by an aggressive BJP to ponzi-scam hit ruling Trinamool Congress in the state. .

The Mamata Banerjee-led ruling Trinamool Congress’faced a strong challenge in these seats from BJP after its image was badly hit by the arrest of two of its party leaders in the multi-crore Saradha chit-fund scam. Several others connected to TMC are being grilled by the CBI.

BJP enters West Bengal assembly, wins Basirhat South

India Blooms News Service
Comments ()

Post your comment:

Web Analytics