August 29, 2026 04:50 pm (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
‘Clean my shoes’: Greater Noida woman detained after alleged abuse, assault of security guards | 21-year-old model stabbed to death in Delhi; gym trainer arrested after encounter | Abhishek Banerjee, Derek O'Brien, other TMC leaders booked after Camac Street clash with Kolkata Police | Kanpur plane crash: Training aircraft crashes near Ganges, two pilots killed | Big IT boost for Bengal: LTM opens global delivery & AI centre in Kolkata's New Town | 21-year-old Delhi model found stabbed at Delhi home, gym trainer accused of killing her | ‘Who is stopping her from wearing what she wants?’: Kangana Ranaut hits back at Kriti Sanon over Raksha Bandhan ad | 300 Indians missing in Nepal flash floods, 160 dead: Foreign Minister reveals grim toll | Supreme Court directs Tarun Tejpal to surrender within two weeks | Supreme Court notice to 20 rebel TMC MPs in disqualification plea
WhatsApp

WhatsApp's new feature allows users to undo 'delete for me' option

| @indiablooms | Dec 20, 2022, at 09:25 pm

WhatsApp has rolled out a new feature allowing users to restore a deleted message. The undo option will be available when a person chooses “delete for me” instead of  “delete for everyone” while erasing a message in a chat.

It will be known as “accidental delete” and will provide users a window of 5 seconds to undo their decision to delete a message for themselves and enable them to delete the message for everyone subsequently.

The Meta-owned company said the option will now be available to all users on Android and iOS.

WhatsApp took to Twitter to announce the same and said, "'Delete for Me' We've all been there, but now you can UNDO when you accidentally delete a message for you that you meant to delete for everyone!"

Prior to the launch, WhatsApp ran beta testing in August and some Android and iOS users participated in it, according to WhatsApp feature tracker WABetaInfo

Time-to-time the instant messaging app has introduced various privacy features and options to allow users to be in more control.

Earlier, users could delete a wrongly sent message within one hour, eight minutes, and 16 seconds time frame.

Then features like exiting group chats without notifying anyone, controlling who can see you are online, and preventing screenshots on view once messages gave more power to users.

Users can also prevent people from adding them to WhatsApp groups without their permission by choosing the option under privacy features.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.